Cream-less Cream of Broccoli Soup

Hi, My name is Lisa Ehlers and I donʼt usually write recipes, I write stories. I look at the produce at hand and make a few decisions like do I want a mixed vegetable dish or a single vegetable dish. Do the vegetable look like they would go together well or stand better on their own. My choice was to focus on Broccoli.

Cream-less Cream of Broccoli Soup
So here goes the story.
It was a very windy Thursday and I needed to write a recipe. On a windy day I like creamy soups.

These are the ingredients I used:
1 head of Broccoli broke up into florets, (About 2 Cups). Remove the hard outer skin on
the stock and chop it up and add it too.
½ Onion per head of Broccoli
2 cloves garlic or enough for you…be brave!
Salt & Pepper
1 Squeeze of Lemon 1 Tablespoonish
1 T Rice per head of broccoli (uncooked) This is a good place for white rice. It cooks
much quicker.
Stock Vegetable or Chicken or home made.

 

Heat a sauce pan add the olive oil and immediately add the onions. Coat the onions in oil and let it caramelize on low heat for 3 + minutes or until you see the darkening color. Donʼt burn them. Then add the broccoli and coat it in the oil too. I call this sealing the vegetable and itʼs important in the flavors your can hold in a soup. Add the rest of the ingredients, including the uncooked rice, and coat them too.

Pour in your stock until you have covered your vegetable by about an inch. Cook long enough to make sure your rice is done. The rice will give the soup a creamy feel when blended. A little cauliflower would do the same. When the rice is done I turn off the heat and put my immersion blender in the pot and stir it around a bit. If you donʼt have an immersion blender you can use a Cuisinart or a blender. If you use a blender donʼt fill it above half way or the heat will pop the lid.

I topped mine with a little freshly grated parmesan cheese and served it with roasted red pepper hummus on rice crackers.  The colors work well together and the flavors were Yummy!

2 thoughts on “Cream-less Cream of Broccoli Soup

  1. THANK YOU LISA!! I am juicing and am trying to find soup recipes that satisfy my need for something warm. No dairy, no wheat, no meat. I am a new follower! Thanks for sharing and I look forward to getting a cookbook from you one day.

  2. Hello Lori,
    My whole school is dairy and wheat free. I do offer meat classes.
    I look forward to hearing what you think after you try it. It’s super simple and if you add enough garlic really tastie!
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

