Tempeh Mushroom Stroganoff

I started out wanting to use the strawberries but I ate them. So I think I will use the cutest little zucchini I have ever seen! What could I use with it? How about the mushrooms and the leeks. Then I look in my frig and to see what I had that also needed to be used. I had cooked up some tempeh a couple days ago and had a few cherry tomatoes that were looking like their days were numbered so this is what I came up with.

INGREDIENTS

1 lb mushrooms
2 small zucchinis
1/2 onion
5 strips of cooked Tempeh.  Any left over meat would work just as well or no meat.
2 tablespoons Rainshadow farms flour
2 cups mushroom stock
11 cherry tomatoes cut in half
1 cup pasta
1 tablespoon oil
2 cloves garlic
salt and pepper
¼ cup walnuts
Grated cheese Casa Dia or any hard cheese you have on hand

I started by taking the butt ends off the mushrooms, and throwing them into cold lightly salted water and boil for about ten minutes. This makes for a simple stock. While that is boiling heat a saute pan, add the oil, the chopped mushrooms, onions and garlic. Cook about ten minutes on low.

 

 

Then add the zucchini, when the mushrooms start giving up their liquid sprinkle them with the flour. Strain the mushroom stock, add it little by little stirring constantly and paying attention to how thick or thin you want your stroganoff.

 

 

 

Cook your pasta. Add the tempeh, walnuts, tomatoes, salt and good amount offreshly cracked pepper. Drain the pasta put the mushroom mixture on top and sprinkle with a little grated cheese. Serve with a lettuce salad.

Leave a Reply

