Going Garlic

Mincing garlic is simultaneously one of my favorite and least favorite parts of dinner prep. It smells delicious, it doesn’t take long, and the results are always satisfying; it also makes the chopping board smell, the garlic can become sticky, and the odor hangs onto my fingers for hours. However, I don’t want to spend a lot of money on a tiny jar of bland garlic. I dislike the buildup of empty jars, it costs way more than its equivalent of fresh garlic, and I don’t know where it comes from.

Last year I learned a trick to combine the best of both worlds. When I had a surplus of garlic, I peeled all of the cloves, tossed them in the food processor with a small amount of vegetable oil, then let the electric blades do all the work. I found in my stash of mason jars the perfect little jar to hold the garlicky goodness, filled it to the brim, and tucked it away in the fridge.

Some nights, I still choose to mince my garlic by hand. But you can bet that many other nights I reach into the fridge, grab my little mason jar, and simply spoon my garlic out of it and into whatever dish I’m cooking. All the wonderful garlic aroma, non of the sticky garlic mess.

Ingredients from Ag Connect:

One thought on “Going Garlic

  1. A tip to help garlicky smelling fingers is to wash your hands and then run your fingers all over some thing that’s stainless steel (like your faucet) and then wash them again. And TADA! No more garlicky smelling fingers

Leave a Reply

