Fantastic Fennel Find

It was a fluke that I found this recipe. The delightfully straightforward name says it all: Couscous with Chickpeas, Fennel, and Citrus. I was really looking for a vegetarian dish that used garbanzo beans. What I found was a light, delicious way to use fennel. Bright citrus, briny olives, caramelized fennel, and crispy-on-the-outside-tender-on-the-inside garbanzo beans come together to create a flavor profile I never would have thought of.

Displaying FullSizeRender.jpg

My fiance is not the biggest fan of fennel, and even he agreed that this dish was very good. He even had seconds, which is a tried-and-true indication that he’s enjoying a dish. I thought it was delicious. It’s perfect right now because citrus is in season; I had the most delicious orange to use (I had to sit there and scrape the remaining flesh and juice off the peel while I stood over the sink after zesting and juicing it).

Displaying IMG_2106.JPG

This recipe has everything. Texture, flavor, nuance, it’s easy to make, and it’s totally satisfying.

If I could change anything about the preparation of this recipe I would cover the bean/fennel mixture after adding the lemon to help create a little more of a sauce instead of cooking off all the liquid.

Displaying FullSizeRender.jpg

I served this dish with braised red cabbage (see recipe below). It’s one of my favorite sides, as well as a great way to use an abundance of red cabbage.

So, give them both a try. You’ll be glad you did.

Braised Red Cabbage

One small-medium cabbage head, cut into 1/4-1/2-inch strips

1/3 Cup Apple cider vinegar

1/3 Cub Water

2 Tablespoons sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

Pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in a large saute pan. Turn on high heat, and bring to boil. Stir, cover, and turn heat down to a low simmer. Cook for about 20-30 minutes until it meets your desired crispiness/tenderness. Stir occasionally to keep from sticking to pan. Taste for seasoning. GREAT as leftovers.

Leave a Reply

